Dr. Michael Nietzel, 2009 award winner Dr. Brad Bradshaw, and Ralph Slavens, co-founder and Chairman of the Missourian Award.

The Missourian Award

was the concept of Mr. Ralph Slavens, who along with his now deceased wife, Corrine, in 1994 saw the need for the state of Missouri to honor its most outstanding citizens who have had an amazing impact on their community and on our state’s vitality.
To be selected, individuals must have been born in the State of Missouri, or became famous in Missouri. Nominees must have made an outstanding contribution to their community, state or nation in one of the following fields: civics, business, arts, or politics. No person from the political field, however, will be considered for this award until they have been out of an elected position for at least two years.
Persons selected for this award must attend the presentation ceremony in order to receive the award. A member of the family, personal friend or associate must be present to accept the posthumous award for a recipient.

Past Award Winners